Pricing guide
Runway pricing: plans, credits & what a video really costs
Every Runway plan, how many credits each one includes, what a Gen-4.5, Gen-4 Turbo or Aleph 2.0 clip costs on each tier, and how the API's $0.01 per credit compares, checked against Runway's own pricing pages.

- Platform
- Runway
- Best for
- Creators and teams who want a multi-model video + image GenAI suite with tiered credit plans.
- Hands-on
- Controlled benchmark pending
Quick answer
Runway has a free plan with 125 one-time credits and three paid plans billed in credits. Standard is $12 a month billed yearly ($15 monthly) for 625 credits, Pro is $28 yearly ($35 monthly) for 2,250 credits, and Max is $76 yearly ($95 monthly) for 9,500 credits; Enterprise is custom. Gen-4.5 uses 12 credits per second, so a 5-second clip is 60 credits: about $1.15 on Standard, $0.75 on Pro and $0.48 on Max with yearly billing (10, 37 and 158 clips a month). Through the API credits cost $0.01 each, which puts the same clip at $0.60.
Starting point: Free plan (125 one-time credits). · Free tier: Yes — Free plan ($0, 'Free forever'): 125 one-time credits that don't expire to explore a selection of generative creative models.
This evaluation is built on verified documentation and official pricing data, paired with a repeatable test workflow you can run directly in your own project.
Worth evaluating when
- Creators comparing Runway's credit plans before subscribing
- Anyone working out what a Gen-4.5 or Gen-4 Turbo clip costs per second and per month
- Teams deciding between a subscription and Runway's pay-per-credit API
Check before paying
- Plans are priced in credits, not videos, so clip length and model choice decide the real cost
- Yearly billing is cheaper per month than monthly billing on every paid plan
- Credit costs per model change when Runway adds or retires models; recheck the pricing page
- Only the Max plan is documented to roll credits over, and only for 1 month
The plan table
Runway's pricing page lists a Free plan and three paid plans, plus Enterprise. Free gives 125 one-time credits with a selection of generative models and 5GB of storage. Standard adds all video and image models, 5 parallel generations, up to 3 projects, 4K upscaling, no watermarks and 20GB of storage. Pro adds 15 parallel generations, up to 5 projects, one Brand Kit, one custom voice clone, credit top-ups at any time, Runway MCP and 100GB of storage. Max adds early access to new models, 20 parallel generations, up to 10 projects, up to 3 Brand Kits and voice clones, studio-grade output (HDR, ProRes, image sequences) and 500GB of storage.
Enterprise pricing is not published; Runway directs larger teams to contact sales.
| Plan | Yearly billing | Monthly billing | Credits per month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 125 one-time |
| Standard | $12/mo | $15/mo | 625 |
| Pro | $28/mo | $35/mo | 2,250 |
| Max | $76/mo | $95/mo | 9,500 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom |
Prices and credits from runway.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-16. Yearly saves $36, $84 and $228 a year on Standard, Pro and Max.
What each model costs in credits
Runway charges per second of generated video. Its pricing page lists Gen-4.5 at 12 credits per second (60 credits for 5 seconds), Aleph 2.0 at 28 credits per second (140 for 5 seconds), Seedance 2.0 Pro at 1080p at 160 credits per 4 seconds and Seedance 2.0 Fast at 116 credits per 4 seconds. For images, Gen-4 Image at 1080p is 8 credits, Gen-4 Image Turbo is 2 credits and Nano Banana Pro at 2K is 20 credits.
Runway's developer documentation lists Gen-4 Turbo at 5 credits per second, so a 5-second Gen-4 Turbo clip is 25 credits. It is the cheap model for drafts; Gen-4.5 is the one to render final shots with.
What a 5-second clip costs on each plan
Dividing each plan's price by its monthly credits gives the price per credit: Standard is about 1.9 cents on yearly billing (2.4 cents monthly), Pro about 1.2 cents (1.6 cents monthly) and Max 0.8 cents (1 cent monthly). Multiply by the credits a clip uses to get its cost. These are PremiumPeek calculations from Runway's published numbers, not Runway's own estimates.
| 5-second clip | Credits | Standard (yearly) | Pro (yearly) | Max (yearly) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gen-4 Turbo | 25 | $0.48 | $0.31 | $0.20 |
| Gen-4.5 | 60 | $1.15 | $0.75 | $0.48 |
| Aleph 2.0 | 140 | $2.69 | $1.74 | $1.12 |
Calculated from yearly plan prices and monthly credits. With monthly billing a Gen-4.5 clip is $1.44 on Standard, $0.93 on Pro and $0.60 on Max.
How many clips a month you get
Standard's 625 credits make about 10 Gen-4.5 clips of 5 seconds, or 25 Gen-4 Turbo clips. Pro's 2,250 credits make about 37 Gen-4.5 clips or 90 Gen-4 Turbo clips. Max's 9,500 credits make about 158 Gen-4.5 clips or 380 Gen-4 Turbo clips. Aleph 2.0 clips of 5 seconds come to about 4, 16 and 67 a month.
Real usage is lower than these ceilings, because every rejected take spends credits too. A practical rule is to draft on Gen-4 Turbo and render only approved shots on Gen-4.5.
Subscription or API
Runway's API documentation prices credits at $0.01 each, so a 5-second Gen-4.5 clip costs $0.60 through the API and a 5-second Gen-4 Turbo clip $0.25. That is cheaper per credit than Standard or Pro on either billing cycle, and it matches Max on monthly billing. The API has no included allowance or editor, so it suits apps and pipelines; the subscription suits people working in Runway's tools.
Pro lists credit top-ups at any time, with a 1,000-credit minimum according to Runway's FAQ; the page does not state the top-up price.
Who should pick which plan
Start on Free to try the interface; 125 credits is about 2 Gen-4.5 clips. Choose Standard if you make a few short clips a month or mostly draft on Gen-4 Turbo. Choose Pro if you render Gen-4.5 regularly or need a voice clone and top-ups. Choose Max only when Pro's credits run out every month, or you need ProRes, HDR or early model access; it is also the only plan documented to roll credits over, for 1 month.
If you only need one model, or you want to compare against an all-in-one suite, see how Higgsfield prices the same kind of clip in our Higgsfield pricing guide.
Related comparisons
Compare Runway against the tools creators most often weigh it against.
Related guides
More Video workflows from the same verified catalog.
Run a same-input test
Count the seconds you need
Estimate how many seconds of finished video you publish a month, then multiply by 2 to 3 for rejected takes.
Price it in credits
Multiply those seconds by the model's credits per second (12 for Gen-4.5, 5 for Gen-4 Turbo) and compare the total with each plan's monthly credits.
Recheck before paying
Open runway.com/pricing, confirm the credit costs for the models you use, and decide between yearly and monthly billing.
Official sources
These external sources support the product and pricing record. Recheck them before purchasing because plans and limits change.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Runway cost?
Standard is $12 a month billed yearly or $15 monthly (625 credits). Pro is $28 yearly or $35 monthly (2,250 credits). Max is $76 yearly or $95 monthly (9,500 credits). There is also a free plan with 125 one-time credits, and Enterprise is custom.
Is Runway free?
There is a free plan with 125 one-time credits and a selection of generative models. Credits do not renew monthly, and paid plans add all models and more parallel generations. Standard lists no watermarks.
How much does a Gen-4.5 video cost on Runway?
Gen-4.5 uses 12 credits per second, so 5 seconds is 60 credits. On yearly billing that is about $1.15 on Standard, $0.75 on Pro and $0.48 on Max. Through the API, at $0.01 per credit, it is $0.60.
How many videos do you get on Runway Standard?
Standard includes 625 credits a month: about 10 five-second Gen-4.5 clips, 25 Gen-4 Turbo clips or 4 Aleph 2.0 clips, before any rejected takes.
Do Runway credits roll over?
Runway's pricing page says only that Max credits roll over for 1 month; it does not state rollover for the other plans, so assume monthly credits do not carry over.